

# Send Completed Application and Documentation by May 1<sup>st</sup> to:

OFFICE OF VETERANS AFFAIRS; 118 State Street; Montpelier, VT 05620-4401

Toll-free: (888) 666-9844; Phone: (802) 828-3379; Fax: (802) 828-5932

www.veterans.vt.gov

# PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION FOR DISABLED VETERANS AND THEIR SURVIVORS

The State of Vermont offers a *property tax discount on the assessed value* for some disabled veterans and their survivors. The level of the exemption varies from town to town, with the minimum exemption established by state law at \$10,000. A town may elect to increase the exemption for up to \$40,000 by a vote at a regular or special annual meeting. Please contact your city or town clerk to determine if your town has elected to increase the exemption above the \$10,000 established by state law.

Eligibility guidelines are at the bottom of this application. Instructions are on the back.

APPLICANT INFORMATION			
Applicant is:  Veteran Survivor		□Survivor	
State:		Zip:	
Email Address:			
Town Exemption Applies to, if Different from Mailing Town:			
School Parcel Account Number (SPAN) for Property:			
SPAN is an 11-digit number listed on your property tax bill. Contact your town clerk if you do not have a bill.			
SIGNATURE			
I understand that it is my responsibility to provide current documentation to verify eligibility for this benefit. I understand that it is my responsibility to notify the Office of Veterans Affairs if my eligibility status changes or if the property above is no longer my primary residence.			
Date:			
Signature: Date:  ELIGIBILITY			
	Application  State: Email Addr  ling Town:  ty: bill. Contact in the property or if the property of the proper	Applicant is: [  State: Email Address: ling Town: ty: bill. Contact your town TURE  rovide current documy responsibility is per if the property at Date:	Applicant is:

To be eligible for the exemption, <u>Veterans</u> must meet one of the three criteria listed below:

- Receive Disability Compensation for a service-connected disability rated 50% or higher by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
- Receive Improved Pension (also called Non-Service Connected Disability Pension) from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
- Receive a permanent medical retirement from the military.

To be eligible for the exemption, <u>Survivors</u> must be the un-remarried spouse or a minor child of a veteran who met the eligibility criteria above at the time of their death.

State of Vermont, Office of Veterans Affairs Form updated Dec 2020

#### **Instructions**

- 1. Complete the Applicant Information portion of the Property Tax Exemption for disabled veterans and their survivors form.
- 2. Read the Signature portion. Sign and date the form.
- 3. Deliver the form, along with the required **documentation** (see below), to the Vermont State Office of Veterans Affairs by May 1<sup>st</sup> for the exemption to apply for the following year.

Mail or In Person: 118 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05620-4401 Fax: (802) 828-5932 \*\*PLEASE DO NOT SEND APPLICATION MULTIPLE TIMES\*\*

4. With the exception of individuals meeting the *One Time Filing* criteria listed below, applicants must submit this form and documentation every year by May 1<sup>st</sup> to receive the exemption for the following year.

#### **Documentation**

All applications must include documentation to verify eligibility. The verification documents are issued either by the U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs (U.S. VA) or the Department of Defense (DoD).

### **U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (U.S. VA)**

Eligibility based on receipt of disability compensation rated 50% or higher, or receipt of improved pension, is verified by the U.S. VA. Please send the *current year* **Summary of Benefits** letter. They are generally mailed to disabled veterans in January or February of each year. To request documentation, call (800) 827-1000 or by accessing eBenefits at <a href="https://www.ebenefits.va.gov">www.ebenefits.va.gov</a>

## **Department of Defense**

Eligibility based on military retirement (**permanent**) for medical reasons is verified by submitting a DD Form 214 that shows the veteran was medically retired, or a copy of the medical retirement letter.

#### **Privacy**

The VT Office of Veterans Affairs does not need any additional information on veterans other than what is listed above. We do not need information on payments the veteran receives. Applicants are free to request documents from the U.S. VA that limits the information included. In addition, applicants are free to black out information, including payment amounts, on the documentation they have before submitting to the VT Office of Veterans Affairs.

The VT Office of Veterans Affairs will provide the Vermont Department of Taxes and towns the names, addresses, and SPAN's of approved applicants. The VT Office of Veterans Affairs will not provide any information on payments received to the Vermont Department of Taxes. Veterans and survivors, however, are required by law to report payments received from the U.S. VA when they complete their state income tax return.

## **One Time Filing**

With written proof from the U.S. VA (800-827-1000), the following individuals only have to apply once, as their eligibility will not change.

- Veterans who have been designated totally and permanently disabled by the U.S. VA.
- Veterans who have had a disability compensation rating of 50% *or higher* for 10 *consecutive* years. You MUST call the US VA (800-827-1000) to obtain a letter stating this.
- Veterans who received a **permanent** medical retirement.
- Surviving spouses (eligibility will only change if they remarry; it is the responsibility of the surviving spouse to notify the Office of Veterans Affairs if they remarry).